Kimbrell named NL Rookie of the Year, no votes for Dillon Gee

UPDATED 11/14 @ 2:51 p.m.

I had held out hope that New York Mets starter Dillon Gee would get tossed a couple third place votes but as I wrote earlier, there appeared to be more than a few rookies with better resumes behind Atlanta teammates Craig Kimbrel and Freddie Freeman.  The one I thought was most obvious was Vance Worley of the Phillies, who finished third in the voting with 40 points.  In the end Kimbrel was the unanimous selection for first and the rest of the votes were spread out as such, according to Dave O’Brien of the Atlanta-Journal Constitution:

The 23-year-old Alabama native received all 32 first-place votes and 160 total points to become the 10th unanimous selection and first since Albert Pujols in 2001. Five points were awarded for first-place votes, three for second-place votes and one for third-place votes.

Freeman got 21 second-place votes and seven third-place votes for 70 points, while Worley finished with 40 points on eight second-place votes and 16 third-place votes.

No other NL rookie was named on more than four ballots. Washington catcher Wilson Ramos was fourth with six points, followed by Arizona pitcher Josh Collmenter with five points and Washington second baseman Danny Espinosa with three points.

The Cubs’ Darwin Barney and the Dodgers’ Kenley Jansen received two third-place votes apiece to tie for seventh.”

As you can see, Gee’s name was nowhere to be found, but it’s hard to argue with anyone who did receive a vote, even Kenley Jensen, who has probably struck out 10 batters while you’ve been reading this.

ORIGINAL POST 11/14 @ 11:52 a.m.

Will Dillon Gee get any rookie of the year votes?

Today the Baseball Writers Association of America will announce their selections for rookie of the year and Mets fans will likely watch Atlanta Braves closer Craig Kimbrel take home the NL award.  Kimbrel, whose 46 saves in 2011 broke  the rookie record of 40 set the previous season by AL rookie of the year Neftali Feliz, may go on to sweep the first place voting, but that’s not to say a New York Met won’t see his name on a ballot.

Dillon Gee managed to top all National League rookies with 13 wins in 2011 and was second to only New York Yankees starter Ivan Nova (16)  for the major league lead.  Each voter from the BBWAA will choose three rookies: a first-place choice (worth five points), a second-place choice (worth three points), and a third-place choice (worth one point), with the award going to the player who receives the most overall points.

The 25-year-old righty could slide in behind Kimbrel and teammate Freddie Freeman (.282 avg, 22 HR, 76 RBI, .795 OPS) to garner some of those third place votes.

Rookie of the Year winners announced Monday at 2 p.m. ET as awards week begins. Perhaps Dillon Gee gets a couple of 3rd-place votes. #mets
Adam Rubin

I’d like to see Gee get recognized for his performance last season though I’m not sure guys like Vance Worley, Danny Espinosa, and even Javy Guerra might be more deserving of votes behind the Braves duo.  Had #35 not tailed off (presumably due to fatigue) in the second half of the season we may be having a completely different conversation about what kind of votes he should be receiving.

In any case, Dillon Gee continues to exceed expectations and I’m sure I am not alone in hoping that he’ll continue to do just that in his sophomore campaign.

Photo by Michael G. Baron

With Chris Capuano unlikely to be resigned, the uncertainty surrounding Johan Santana‘s health and Mike Pelfrey‘s contract, not much is known beyond Gee and Jonathon Niese come next season, though general manager Sandy Alderson has said that the 2012 rotation should resemble this past seasons.

In case you were wondering, the last New York Mets pitcher to take home rookie of the year honors was Dwight Gooden back in 1984.

Gooden claimed the award just one year after teammate Darryl Strawberry won it in 1983.  The Straw Man is the last offensive player to win the award for the Amazin’s.




Powered by Facebook Comments